The (Non) End of Autobiographical Fiction

As if to prove that my blog is relevant, The Guardian published an article by Belinda McKeon on the difficulties of autobiographical fiction writing yesterday. I particularly like this idea:

“The problem is with story; with the idea that life is anything like a story. It is not a story; it has been, and hopefully continues to be, a life.”

I’ve come back to this idea a few times in my PhD research on Dorothy Richardson because her autobiographical Pilgrimage novel sequence has pretty much been left unfinished since the last volume was published posthumously. Basically, can autobiography or autobiographical fiction ever have a satisfying ending if the life it’s based on continues?

One thought on “The (Non) End of Autobiographical Fiction”

  1. I suppose it depends on the events that have happened to the author, and whether those events have already come to a conclusion. Personally, I waited until a stage in my life when many of the more significant issues had reached a head, and then been resolved. Of course I am hoping that my life continues to have interesting aspects.. but I intend for what I write so far to at least draw to some conclusions. If all else fails, or I accidentally walk in front of a bus, my daughter has been assigned to pick up the threads! It’s an interesting thought though. Mir xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

